top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureK_Pepper02

Social Media Break

Why is there something freeing yet terrifying about deleting social media apps? I think I’ve just gotten so used to and comfortable watching other people's lives through a screen when I’m barely happy with my own…I’ve been so tired and just not content with the life I’m living. But I have no trouble escaping to everyone else’s. I constantly followed and liked fitness influencers, girls that are pretty and petite, and pages where they live in another country and travel the world and are never far from the beach. Thinking thoughts “if I just had their life, I would be so happy and not want anything else.” Sure, it would still be amazing to get to travel the world and to be fit and thin, but I was missing the bigger picture for the longest time. I have my own life. God made me and made my life. I shouldn’t be living this one life God created for me on this earth wishing I was someone else, somewhere else, in love with someone else. I was created and made to enjoy the life I have no matter what it might be because I am here to serve Him. I am here to help others reach for Jesus so we can spend the rest of our life with Jesus. So, it makes me think deeper, what is the purpose of wanting more, wanting to be somewhere else, wanting to be with someone. I believe those thoughts are from the devil to keep us from being content with what Jesus gave us. Sure, we can want things but that shouldn’t be our only drive to life. Finding someone to fall in love with isn’t our life purpose and mission. Falling in love with God is. I can’t wait to reach heaven and hear the words from my Heavenly Father say, “well done good and faithful servant, I’ve waited a long time to see you.” So, to live the life God has called and has been calling me to live, I’ve decided to take a step back and take a break from all social media. Now I know what you’re thinking, “you’ve tried this before, and it only lasted three days.” You may be right; however, I didn’t take it as seriously as I wanted to and should’ve. This time I am committing to reading more, mostly the Bible, journaling, praying and actually taking time to spend with God that my phone was taking away. I want to work on my art, write more for my blog, find new hobbies, and enjoy God’s creation with summer weather upon us. I want to experience things more and on my own not waiting for someone to come with me. Of course, I want to still hang out with friends when I can. Hopefully, this will make me get out more and see if I can find more like-minded people. Cutting things cold turkey like this doesn’t usually end in my favor but this time I am willing to put in the work and try my hardest to go longer than three days lol. I can’t wait to see where this takes me. I know I said that last time too but it’s true. I’ve heard it said before that the effort you put into something is the effort you receive or get back. That’s probably why I didn’t last too long last time is because I didn’t truly put in my full effort but instead spent my time wishing I was on social media watching other peoples’ lives. Constantly comparing myself and my life to everyone I saw on my screen. So unhealthy and toxic for the mind. I can’t give this idea all my credit. Reading the book “Who are You Following” by Sadie Robertson/Huff really opened my mind to all of this. Sure, she is back on social media, but she put a limit on it after taking a break. I want to see where this break takes me. What I experience and learn from this process. What I learn from myself as I will be trapped in my own thoughts and not watching others. How I deal with loneliness and what new things I find out about myself. I know I won’t be truly lonely with having God next to me to talk to and learn about. This will be good. And very much needed. Wish me luck on this journey as I navigate not only myself but navigating what God has in store for me. :)


I wrote that piece about over a month ago and I am obviously back on social media lol. My social media break lasted 2 weeks but in those 2 weeks, I grew in a lot of ways I will never forget. and most importantly grew a lot in my relationship with God. You may be thinking "2 weeks isn't that long" and I very much agree. I had thought my break was going to be longer than that, but I have to remember God can do anything in any amount of time. I'm grateful I got those weeks to fully dive into Jesus and not think about anything else. It was refreshing. It's great to take a break and take a step back from things and take in all God has to offer you. I will say, I have slipped back into some of my old habits with social media but I am working on it. I definitely want to keep a limit on social media so I'm not always free to waste my time and energy on it. Over the past few weeks, I have been consistently leaning towards God and pushing closer to Him in so many ways which I believe is the most important. I don't want to be caught in the trap where in order to live my life fully I need to share every little thing on social media or always having to be in the know about everyone else. That simply is not the life we are meant to have and live. It's freeing knowing that we don't have to live that way. God has what is best for us and all we have to do is surrender and trust in Him and live out His purpose He has set for our lives. I thank and praise God for all He has done and continues to do in my life and for everyone around me. :)


I really hope you enjoyed reading another one of my personal pieces. I greatly enjoy writing them for all to read. Please feel free to leave a comment telling me your thoughts! Be sure to also subscribe so you don’t miss out on future posts! One last thing! Click the EF tab at the top of my home page next to my social media links for some awesome Christian apparel from Elevated Faith to spread the word of God. It's a great simple conversation starter to share His word (plus their stuff is super comfy). I am an ambassador for them so go ahead and use the code KKyanne15 to get 10% off your purchase! This link with a purchase will help me continue pouring into my posts that I thoroughly enjoy doing. Every bit helps! :)



-Purposefully, Pepper <3





43 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • images
bottom of page